Hello from Germany / What I think about Linux (long post)
Welcome, Guest.
"When tyranny becomes law, rebellion becomes duty." -Thomas Jefferson

Author Topic: Hello from Germany / What I think about Linux (long post)  (Read 4076 times)

Offline JayVii

• Contributor
    • JayVii's Page
Hello from Germany / What I think about Linux (long post)
« on: April 13, 2014, 01:32:02 PM »
Hello, my name is Jan and I'm an 18 years old student from (western) Germany (sorry if my english is unusual/bad/strange :D). I use Linux for about a year now and that is the time I watch Spat's videos.
I used many different (*buntu-) distros and since 2-3 months manjaro, which is ABSOLUTELY my favorite distro. It's impressive how fast and easy it is.

That's practically it, but I now go further into detail just in case somebody is interested in an user-experience thing from a former windows-user.
As I already mentioned, it's about a year ago, that I first installed Ubuntu next to Windows 7. It just blew my mind, what was possible with Ubuntu, although, I now find it's a quite closed-distro compared to others (What I mean is: Unity isn't very customizable). I used Ubuntu much more than Windows 7 at that time, although I was (and still am) a Gamer. I soon switched to Linux Mint, but made a big mistake while installing: I didn't chose "install alongside Windows 7", but "erase HDD". However, it wasn't that big of a deal for me, as I liked Linux more anyways, most of my games/programs ran in wine (or had a native alternative) and I previously backed up all my important data.
I distro-hopped for a while and 2-3 months ago I discovered Manjaro and it quickly became my favorite distro.
Also today, I think it was a "good accident" when my windows partition got wiped, as it encouraged me learning more about Linux. I didn't regret the decision trying it out and I'm happy to be part of this community now.