Hi Everyone
Welcome, Guest.
"Those who would give up essential Liberty, to purchase a little temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety." -Benjamin Franklin

Author Topic: Hi Everyone  (Read 2056 times)

Offline jasonwnz

Hi Everyone
« on: June 21, 2016, 06:27:38 AM »
Hi All..

Thought I'd introduce myself... I'm from New Zealand.. I've been playing around with Linux's now for a few years on and off... using it alot more after M$ upgrade me to Windows 10..

I have been using Linux Mint 17.4 for the last year.. but happened to come across one of Spatry videos and thought I'd give Manjaro a try.. so far so good.. love the pacman/yaourt commands.. so easy to use, I've a couple issues i haven't quite sorted out yet but found work around in the mean time.

so yeah... Hi :)

On a side note.. was watching Spatry snapy or crappy video.. and noticed his terminal had this cool theme |---[ user@nix ]-- [time] --- [/current/location ]--- very cool
« Last Edit: June 21, 2016, 06:49:13 AM by jasonwnz »

Offline Spatry

• Benevolent Dictator
  • Administrator - Sysop
  • Cup of Linux Founder
    • Cup of Linux
Re: Hi Everyone
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2016, 03:35:18 PM »
That theme exists on mCOLe (my distribution) or you can easily get it by installing screenfetch and bashish but you will need to do the research to configure them to match my setup... Thanks for taking the time to introduce yourself and welcome aboard! Cheers!
Windows assumes the user is an idiot... Linux DEMANDS Proof!

Offline Kalthrix

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2016, 03:58:12 PM »
Welcome to the COL Forums jasonwnz! I do have to admit that I am a fan of the theming in mCOLE. Would not mind trying to recreate that on Linux Mint 17.3 KDE. I know I could get it by default in Spatry's spin of Manjaro, however XFCE and myself don't get along, ha! I guess I just prefer KDE. Great thing about Linux is that it is all about choice on your preferred desktop.