Win10 user transitioning to Arch
Welcome, Guest.
“Theory and practice sometimes clash. And when that happens, theory loses. Every single time.” ― Linus Torvalds

Author Topic: Win10 user transitioning to Arch  (Read 925 times)

Offline BadBrush

Win10 user transitioning to Arch
« on: May 10, 2019, 06:54:27 PM »
Hey all! I feel I'm a bit of an anomaly among the linux community, I'm a professional artist working in animation. I've always loved computers and actually started my education with a comp sci degree but eventually transferred to Fine Art. Now I'm doing production art for animated movies and TV. I've always loved the open source community and have desperately wanted to transition to Linux, but I'm veeeeery deeply connected to Adobe Photoshop (it's pretty much an industry standard). I also used Maya a good deal, but Blender has become an AMAZING replacement and I use it full-time now. I'm now dual booting Arch Linux +i3gaps \ Windows 10 and I mostly log into Windows 10 to use Photoshop.

After botching my bootloader, I've finally got the system up-and-running and am now in the process of setting up my Wacom Cintiq to work appropriately with Arch and I'm hoping I can get GIMP to work as a replacement for Photoshop. That might take a bit of doing considering I have 10+ years experience using Photoshop.

Anyway, that's my story. Nice to meet you all!

Offline Crimson

• Contributor
  • Defeating a sandwich only makes it tastier.
    • «FC» FunHouse Clan
Re: Win10 user transitioning to Arch
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2019, 08:24:05 PM »
Adobe Photoshop (it's pretty much an industry standard)

No, Photoshop IS the industry standard.