Manjaro improvement suggestions
Welcome, Guest.
“Theory and practice sometimes clash. And when that happens, theory loses. Every single time.” ― Linus Torvalds

Author Topic: Manjaro improvement suggestions  (Read 4099 times)

Offline Crippled

Manjaro improvement suggestions
« on: April 26, 2016, 11:52:57 AM »
I would love to see Manjaro have everything setup automatically option and to permanently enable firewall option during the install. I find that the CD/DVD drive is missing information in order for it to operate. In order to enable the firewall permanently you need to use the terminal. Having these options would help new Linux users and help people who are not comfortable or don't know how to use the terminal. 
I am a novice using Manjaro Xfce exclusively. I am a GUI person and not CLI person. I prefer not using the terminal.

Offline Spatry

• Benevolent Dictator
  • Administrator - Sysop
  • Cup of Linux Founder
    • Cup of Linux
Re: Manjaro improvement suggestions
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2016, 12:06:07 PM »
Manjaro ships with a GUI Firewall configuration utility and it is also included in the latest release of mCOLe... did you see that in the settings manager? I also mentioned it in the Manjaro beginners tour video where I show that there is a GUI firewall software.
It does not make sense to ship a firewall already running as it could potentially prevent some programs from gaining access to the internet until rules are applied by an end user. And what about people like me who have a firewall built into the router? In this case I do not need to activate a software firewall on my machine, rather, I access the internet through a VPN for added security.
Windows assumes the user is an idiot... Linux DEMANDS Proof!

Offline johnrmal

« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2016, 09:31:10 PM »
Why do I have to turn on the firewall everytime I turn on the computer?  On my mcole I turn it on and if I restart it shuts off.  Never mind I found it.
sudo systemctl start ufw