OpenRA to replace 0AD
Welcome, Guest.
“Theory and practice sometimes clash. And when that happens, theory loses. Every single time.” ― Linus Torvalds

Author Topic: OpenRA to replace 0AD  (Read 7683 times)

Offline Spatry

  • Benevolent Dictator
  • Administrator - Sysop
  • **********
  • Posts: 5603
  • Cup of Linux Founder
    • Cup of Linux
OpenRA to replace 0AD
« on: March 01, 2015, 04:11:37 AM »
Because of the lag and unplayability, we will be running with OpenRA (Open Red Alert) instead of 0AD. This is a classic game which should run well on most computers; EVEN LEGACY MACHINES!!! GET IT HERE. This link has instructions for downloading depending on your distro of choice. The download is SMALL and additional content can be downloaded in-game.
Windows assumes the user is an idiot... Linux DEMANDS Proof!

Offline JayVii

  • Contributor
  • *******
  • Posts: 1759
    • JayVii's Page
Re: OpenRA to replace 0AD
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2015, 04:20:48 AM »
Good call! OpenRA is a really amazing game a definitely brings back some old memories :)

I'd be up to it, if i had a machine here, capable of running it (most likely will not work on my netbook as it already struggles with 360p HTML5 videos).

I'll be in next week, though.

Offline Spatry

  • Benevolent Dictator
  • Administrator - Sysop
  • **********
  • Posts: 5603
  • Cup of Linux Founder
    • Cup of Linux
Re: OpenRA to replace 0AD
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2015, 04:46:58 AM »
It should work great on a netbook... We were guessing that this could probably run on a Pentium 2! According to their github page:
Hardware:
Shader Model 2.0 capable GPU (Radeon 9500+ / GeForce FX5200+ / GMA X3100+)
 1GB Free Hard Drive Space
 512MB RAM (the game itself uses ~100MB)
 Sound
 3 Button Mouse
 Network Card (desirable)
 Display capable of at least 1024×768

You could try it on your netbook and see if it will run... I would be interested in knowing if it will work...
Windows assumes the user is an idiot... Linux DEMANDS Proof!

Offline JayVii

  • Contributor
  • *******
  • Posts: 1759
    • JayVii's Page
Re: OpenRA to replace 0AD
« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2015, 08:37:31 AM »
Sadly, it doesn't :/

Specs:
1GB RAM
Intel Atom 1.66 Single Core
1024x600 Screen resolution
integrated graphics

Offline Spatry

  • Benevolent Dictator
  • Administrator - Sysop
  • **********
  • Posts: 5603
  • Cup of Linux Founder
    • Cup of Linux
Re: OpenRA to replace 0AD
« Reply #4 on: March 01, 2015, 09:41:22 AM »
the specs are ok but the screen size is a little small... I would try it anyway... it is a small download
Windows assumes the user is an idiot... Linux DEMANDS Proof!

Offline lcRONOS

  • I will run all the Operating Systems!
  • Staff Member
  • ********
  • Posts: 751
Re: OpenRA to replace 0AD
« Reply #5 on: March 01, 2015, 03:41:17 PM »
This is a really good game, and I can't wait to see Yuri's Revenge added to the collection. Such great classics.
Laptop: HP Pavilion 15t, quadboot Obarun Linux, macOS 10.13, TrueOS, Windows 10
Desktop: Dell Inspiron 660, dualboot Artix Linux,Windows 1

Offline blindpcguy

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 189
  • mac and linux tie windows next
    • Skype
    • powerpc macs foreveer
Re: OpenRA to replace 0AD
« Reply #6 on: March 03, 2015, 10:59:13 AM »
will we ever go back to OAD. I really enjoyed playing that with everyone. I hate it that i missed the last few games of it. 
“Fear is the path to the dark side. Fear leads to anger. Anger leads to hate. Hate leads to suffering.” Master Yoda

Offline Deckard Cain

  • The wonderful wizard of Trisquel
  • Staff Member
  • ********
  • Posts: 459
  • Stay a while, and *nix!
    • Skype
    • DDCResearch
Re: OpenRA to replace 0AD
« Reply #7 on: March 03, 2015, 12:00:47 PM »
We will be going back to 0ad one day... when they finally get the lag issues fixed that is xD
Stay a while, and *nix!

Offline Spatry

  • Benevolent Dictator
  • Administrator - Sysop
  • **********
  • Posts: 5603
  • Cup of Linux Founder
    • Cup of Linux
Re: OpenRA to replace 0AD
« Reply #8 on: March 03, 2015, 05:08:10 PM »
I am all for going back to 0AD. As Deckard stated, the lag issues need to be fixed. OpenRA seems to progress faster; allowing us to play 2 or 3 games in the normal time allotted for 0AD.
Windows assumes the user is an idiot... Linux DEMANDS Proof!

Offline TheFlagCourier

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 233
  • FOSS Ronin
Re: OpenRA to replace 0AD
« Reply #9 on: March 03, 2015, 05:57:19 PM »
I realy found 0AD to be a pain when someone (*myself*) disconnects from the host and causes issues on re-joining; or the semi-random crashes. I think it could benefit from dedicated servers rather than from a peer-to-peer experience. The lag was a downer, but I don't think it was the game's worst problem.
Having never played a Red Alert game, I'm a little anxious to download and try OpenRA.

Offline Spatry

  • Benevolent Dictator
  • Administrator - Sysop
  • **********
  • Posts: 5603
  • Cup of Linux Founder
    • Cup of Linux
Re: OpenRA to replace 0AD
« Reply #10 on: March 03, 2015, 06:04:38 PM »
OpenRA does not have a difficult learning curve. It is much like 0AD with a difference that the gameplay is rapid. Units-structures build much faster... Build your armies quickly, command and conquer!
Windows assumes the user is an idiot... Linux DEMANDS Proof!

Offline lcRONOS

  • I will run all the Operating Systems!
  • Staff Member
  • ********
  • Posts: 751
Re: OpenRA to replace 0AD
« Reply #11 on: March 04, 2015, 05:21:28 PM »
Spatry is exactly right.  0ad is an open source game that mirrors Age of Empires.  OpenRA is the open source version of Command and Conquer (Red Alert).  I've played all four games, and if I were to rank them it'd be C&C (Yuri's Revenge is amazing lol), AoEIII, OpenRA, 0ad.  OpenRA needs some work on the AI imo, especially in Dune, I have no idea what the difference in AI is lol.
Laptop: HP Pavilion 15t, quadboot Obarun Linux, macOS 10.13, TrueOS, Windows 10
Desktop: Dell Inspiron 660, dualboot Artix Linux,Windows 1

Offline OrvilleG

  • Newbie
  • **
  • Posts: 0
Re: OpenRA to replace 0AD
« Reply #12 on: March 05, 2015, 09:01:51 PM »
RIP
I'm not a fan of fast RTS games.

Offline lcRONOS

  • I will run all the Operating Systems!
  • Staff Member
  • ********
  • Posts: 751
Re: OpenRA to replace 0AD
« Reply #13 on: March 07, 2015, 01:17:04 AM »
Here is an update on playtest build 20150118.  http://www.moddb.com/games/openra/news/playtest-20150118  The most exciting news is at the very bottom.  In a few months we should start expecting stable to have a new mod (Tiberian Sun).  Playtest should have here before too long.  From there I expect another 6-12 months (depending on how similar the engine is to Tib Sun) for the fifth mod, Red Alert 2.
Laptop: HP Pavilion 15t, quadboot Obarun Linux, macOS 10.13, TrueOS, Windows 10
Desktop: Dell Inspiron 660, dualboot Artix Linux,Windows 1

Offline Leck

  • Newbie
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • www.Lecksite.com
    • Lecksite
hosting openra
« Reply #14 on: March 07, 2015, 08:16:56 AM »


an openra game is instanced by someone hosting as a server and clients connecting via ip.  when i hosted while playing on the same computer, there was a little "server" lag halfway through the game due to an increase in units in the game.  a fast computer is helpful to host.  

to host (be the server) you need to port forward 1234 by default, which is easily changable if you are using port 1234 for something else.  you can also host openra "dedicated" by having the host spectate if clients are getting lag.  
 

www.Lecksite.com/leck.html

advanced programmer